Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Research4Life & EIFL

IWA Publishing supports Research4Life and EIFL, providing access to research in the developing world.

Read Access

via Research4Life: for access to content in IWA Publishing journals from any of the countries in the 'A-List' below, universities and professional schools should check if the institution is registered with Research4Life and contact their librarian for access. For more information, please visit the Research4Life access page>. 

via EIFL: for access to content in IWA Publishing journals from any of the countries in the EIFL list below, librarians should contact EIFL at  

Publishing Open Access: we waive our article processing fees entirely for corresponding authors from countries on the Research4Life 'A-List' (pink) and from countries with with we have a deal through EIFL. We grant 50% waivers for corresponding authors from countries on the 'B-List' (blue). Qualifying authors can select to publish Open Access in any of our journals. To ensure the waiver is applied, we strongly recommend that you read our 'R4Life Waivers Guidelines'.

Research4Life Group A - FREE ACCESS

Afganistan Djibouti Madagascar Solomon Islands
Angola Equatorial Guinea Malawi Somalia
Bangladesh Eritrea Mali South Sudan
Belize Eswatini Marshall Islands Sudan
Benin Ethiopia Mauritania Syrian Arab Republic
Bhutan Gambia Micronesia (Federated States of) Tajikistan
Burkina Faso Ghana Mozambique Timor-Leste
Burundi Guinea Myanmar Togo
Cambodia Guinea-Bissau Nepal Tokelau
Cameroon Haiti Nicaragua Tonga
Cabo Verde Iran Niger Tuvalu
Central African Republic Kenya Papua New Guinea Uganda
Chad Kiribati Republic of Moldova United Republic of Tanzania
Comoros Kyrgyzstan Rwanda Vanuatu
Congo Lao People’s Democratic Republic Samoa Yemen
Côte d’Ivoire Lesotho Sao Tome and Principe Zambia
Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Liberia Senegal Zimbabwe
Democratic Republic of the Congo Sierra Leone


Albania Ivory Coast Maldives Uganda
Armenia Kenya Myanmar Uzbekistan
Azerbaijan Kosovo Nepal Tanzania
Belarus Kyrgyzstan North Macedonia Zambia
Democratic Republic of Congo Laos Moldova Zimbabwe
Ethiopia Lesotho Senegal
Ghana Malawi Sudan

Research4Life Group B - 50% FEE WAIVER

Albania Fiji Mauritius Saint Lucia
Algeria Gabon Mongolia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Antigua and Barbuda Georgia Montenegro Serbia
Armenia Grenada Morocco Seychelles
Azerbaijan Guatemala Namibia Sri Lanka
Belarus Guyana Nauru Suriname
Bolivia, Plurinational State of Honduras Nigeria The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Iraq Niue Tunisia
Botswana Jamaica Pakistan Ukraine
Cook Islands Jordan Palau Uzbekistan
Dominica Kosovo (in accordance with Security Council resolution 1244 (1999) Paraguay Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Egypt Libya Saint Helena Viet Nam
El Salvador Maldives Saint Kitts and Nevis West Bank and Gaza Strip


Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal