The main characteristics of the Danube which passes through the following eight European countries (Fed. Rep. of Germany, Austria, CSSR, Hungary, Yugoslavia, Romania, Bulgaria and Russia) are described. International cooperation and activities include the work of: a) “Internationale Arbeitsgemeinschaft Donauforschung” b) ECE (Declaration of Policy on the Rational Use of Water; Long Term Perspectives for Water Use and Supply in the ECE Region) c) cooperation within the “International Hydrological Program” resulting in the preparation of a Hydrological Monography (part I: Precipitation and Discharge; part II: Water Quality Assessment of the Danube). Some of the specific problems encountered in the Danube Countries are discussed.

This content is only available as a PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.